Shopping basket

Sub total


(You'll pick your shipping method in the next step)

Proceed to checkout
or Continue Shopping
Free UK Postage for all orders over £65. Please select this from the options at checkout!

**PRE-ORDER** THE WAVE PICTURES - When The Purple Emperor Spreads His Wings - Purple and Pin Sparkle Coloured Double Vinyl LP

Roll over the image to zoom in

**PRE-ORDER** THE WAVE PICTURES - When The Purple Emperor Spreads His Wings - Purple and Pin Sparkle Coloured Double Vinyl LP

  • This is a pre-order with a release date of 7th July (was 20th May 2022)
  • Your order is anticipated to be with you on or just after this release date.

The Wave Pictures, industrious and prolific as ever, return on Thursday 18 November with 'This Heart Of Mine'. Following two albums in 2018, 'Brushes With Happiness' and 'Look Inside Your Heart', this is the first track to be made available from their new double album 'When The Purple Emperor Spreads His Wings', due for 2022 release.

 Formed over twenty years ago by Franic Rozycki and David Tattersall in Wymeswold, Leicestershire, and joined by Jonny 'Hudderfield' Helm since 2005, The Wave Pictures have released over twenty albums of their own, along with exciting side projects such as garage rock supergroup The Surfing Magazines, several albums with Stanley Brinks, and Dave's recent guitar contributions to Billy Childish albums, with whom they also collaborated on their 2014 album 'Great Big Flamingo Burning Moon'. Across these varied releases, accommodating Dave's free flowing fountain of songwriting, The Wave Pictures have shown their deep affection for rock and roll, blues, jazz, classic rock, and of course Dave's legendary love of good guitar solo.

 With a nuance of autumn, 'This Heart Of Mine' references time and space travel & memory all rolled into one. Musically inspired by classic Neil Young, 'This Heart Of Mine' witnesses The Wave Pictures going full-on country and features cowboy harmonica from Dominic 'Hotdog' Brider, Franic Rozycki on mandolin, alongside Dave Tattersall's gentle acoustic guitar strum.


A1. River of Gold

A2. Back In The City

A3. French Cricket

A4. Never Better

A5. Blink The Sun

B1. Samsun

B2This Heart of Mine

B3. Douglas

B4. Jennifer

B5. Smell The Ocean

C1. I'd Be Doing Anything

C2. Hazel Irvine

C3. Don't Forget Me

C4. Winter Baby

C5. Flight From Destruction

D1. When The Purple Emperor Spreads His Wings

D2. Never Let You Down

D3. Dale It's A Damn Shame

D4. Walking to Wymeswold

D5. Secret Messages

Earn 0
Reward points

Add To Wishlist