VAN HALEN - The Collection Volume 2


VAN HALEN - The Collection Volume 2

Dispatch time: 2-7 Working Days

Label: Rhino

Release Date: 06/10/2023

The Collection II covers the four consecutive #1 albums released during the Hagar era: 5150 (1986), OU812 (1988), For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge (1991), and Balance (1995).

The journey begins with 5150, Van Halen’s seventh studio album and the band’s first to claim the top spot on the Billboard 200. Certified platinum six times in the U.S., the record treated fans to hits like “Dreams,” “Love Walks In,” and “Why Can’t This Be Love,” which peaked at #3 on the Billboard Hot 100. The group returned two years later with OU812, a quadruple-platinum smash that delivered four Billboard Hot 100 hits, including “Finish What Ya Started” and “When It’s Love.”

The accolades continued with For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge, which earned Van Halen its first GrammyÒ Award for Favorite Heavy Metal/Hard Rock Album. Debuting at #1 and staying there for three weeks, the album achieved triple-platinum certification. The record produced an incredible seven singles, including hits like “Poundcake,” “Top Of The World,” and “Right Now.”

In 1993, the band released its first live album, Live: Right Here, Right Now, before returning in 1995 with Balance, its final studio album with Hagar. The album was another commercial triumph, debuting at #1, selling more than three million copies, and earning a GrammyÒ nomination for “The Seventh Seal.

The Collection II concludes with Studio Rarities 1989-2004, an exclusive compilation that assembles eight gems from the Hagar era for the first time. Among these rarities is “Crossing Over,” the B-Side to Balance’s “Can’t Stop Lovin’ You”, and the band’s only non-album B-side.

The compilation boasts other exceptional highlights, including the band’s cover of Little Feat’s “A Apolitical Blues” and the instrumental “Baluchitherium,” which were originally left off the vinyl versions of OU812 and Balance, respectively. Additionally, the set features two songs the band contributed to the Twister Soundtrack – “Humans Being” and the GrammyÒ- nominated “Respect The Wind.”

Rounding out the set are “It’s About Time,” “Up For Breakfast,” and “Learning To See,” which were recorded during the band’s temporary reunion with Hagar in 2004. All three debuted that year on Van Halen’s second greatest hits collection, The Best of Both Worlds.


LP One: 5150

  • “Good Enough”
  • “Why Can’t This Be Love”
  • “Get Up”
  • “Dreams”
  • “Summer Nights”
  • “Best Of Both Worlds”
  • “Love Walks In”
  • “5150”
  • “Inside”


LP Two: OU812

  • “Mine All Mine”
  • “When It’s Love”
  • “A.F.U. (Naturally Wired)”
  • “Cabo Wabo”
  • “Source Of Infection”
  • “Feels So Good”
  • “Finish What Ya Started”
  • “Black And Blue”
  • “Sucker In A 3 Piece”


LP Three: For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge

  • “Poundcake”
  • “Judgement Day”
  • “Spanked”
  • “Runaround”
  • “Pleasure Dome”
  • “In ‘N’ Out”
  • “Man On A Mission”
  • “The Dream Is Over”
  • “Right Now”
  • “316”
  • “Top Of The World”


LP Four: Balance

  • “The Seventh Seal”
  • “Can’t Stop Lovin’ You”
  • “Don’t Tell Me (What Love Can Do)”
  • “Amsterdam”
  • “Big Fat Money”
  • “Doin’ Time”
  • “Aftershock”
  • “Strung Out”
  • “Not Enough”
  • “Take Me Back (Déjà Vu)”
  • “Feelin’”


LP Five: Studio Rarities 1989-2004

  • “A Apolitical Blues”
  • “Crossing Over”
  • “Baluchitherium”
  • “Humans Being”
  • “Respect The Wind”
  • “It’s About Time”
  • “Up For Breakfast”
  • “Learning To See”

From £36.95
£0.00 From £36.95


You’ll earn 0 reward points with this purchase.