VINCE CLARKE (Erasure, Depeche Mode) - Sounds Of Silence


VINCE CLARKE (Erasure, Depeche Mode) - Sounds Of Silence

Dispatch time: 2-7 Working Days

Label: Mute

Release Date: 17/11/2023

Vince Clarke presents, unbelievably, his first ever solo album, Songs of Silence.

As the album title suggests, Songs of Silence is a lyric-less, instrumental album, and is hugely evocative for that. 

Unlike anything you’ve previously heard from Vince Clarke, as an artisan of dynamic electropop, (Erasure, Depeche Mode, Yazoo), Songs of Silence has about it a more sober ambient electronic beauty, its unique characteristics put it in a category of its own.

For the creation of the record Vince set himself two rules – first that the sounds he himself generated for the album would come solely from Eurorack (a modular synthesizer format introduced in the mid-90s) and secondly that each track would be based around one note, maintaining a single key throughout. The resultant pieces, with the Eurorack sound clay then manipulated on Logic Pro, amount to wordless narratives, in which a sense of synth-generated, cosmic remoteness is often jolted by stark interventions, reminders of the human hand at work amid this machinery.

This album sees Vince Clarke not content to rest on his considerable pop legacy, and instead open up for himself, and for the rest of us, exciting new electronic vistas in which the permutations and possibilities are limitless.

Available on heavy weight vinyl and CD.

A1     Cathedral

A2     White Rabbit

A3     Passage

A4     Imminent

A5     Red Planet

B1     The Lamentations of Jeremiah

B2     Mitosis

B3     Blackleg

B4     Scarper

B5     Last Transmission

From £10.95
£0.00 From £10.95


You’ll earn 0 reward points with this purchase.